FREE LECCY – UNLESS YOURE SKINT

British Gas asked my mother if they could install a smart meter that would enable her to monitor her energy usage. She asked my advice. I had only just heard a BG advert on the radio proclaiming that smart meter customers now get free electricity between 9-5 on a Saturday or Sunday. Good idea, I said. My mother has now had the meter installed. She does not get free electricity at the weekend. Why? She is a prepayment customer. You know, they type that are usually a bit less well off than anyone else. British Gas quoted me – ‘technical difficulties’ in delivering the service to prepayment meters. I call it discrimination against the poor. The fact they don’t offer another kind of discount is corporate repulsivesness at its worst.

home-energy

Leave a Reply

